Stats from Saturday: Darlington v Prescot Cables

It was Darlington’s first win in the FA Cup at Blackwell Meadows in four attempts

Darlington players during the penalty shootout on Saturday with Prescot Cables. Picture: Andy Futers

Darlington are in the hat for the third qualifying round of FA Cup after overcoming Prescot Cables on penalties. Here’s six stats to take from the FA Cup second qualifying round tie:

Manager Alun Armstrong gave a start to three debutants: Johnny Saltmer, Tony McMahon, Nicky Hunt. New signing Dan Maguire was unavailable due to a hamstring strain.

Luke Charman’s double meant he became the first score twice on his Darlington debut since Andrew Nelson in December 2018. Nelson, on loan from Sunderland, bagged a brace in a 3-2 defeat at Chorley.

The contest represented Darlington’s first win in the FA Cup at Blackwell Meadows in four attempts. Previously at the venue they had tried and failed to beat South Shields (lost 3-0, 2017-18), Bradford PA (lost 1-0, 2018-19), and Walsall (lost 1-0, 2019-20).

It was Darlington’s first FA Cup win on home soil without the need for a replay since beating Bristol Rovers at the Arena in 2010-11. Darlington did beat West Auckland at Heritage Park in 2014-15, though that was a replay.

It was the 11th penalty shootout in The Quakers’ history, the first being against Sheffield Wednesday in 1975-76. The sides had each won a leg of their first round tie 2-0, so they went to a replay, as was the norm in those days, but the match at Hillsborough ended 0-0 so spot-kicks were required. Darlington prevailed 5-3 with their penalties scored by Colin Sinclair, Jimmy Cochrane, Stan Webb, Alex Smith and Eric Young

With Jarrett Rivers, Joe Wheatley, Will Hatfield, Adam Campbell and Nicky Hunt scoring from the spot, it became Darlington’s first win on penalties since 2003-04. Here’s how they have fared in their 11 shootouts – how many do you remember?

W 1975-76: Sheffield Wed (a) – League Cup
L 1994-95: Rochdale (a) – Football League Trophy
W 1997-98: Solihull (a) – FA Cup
W 2003-04: Bradford City (a) – League Cup
L 2004-05: Mansfield Town (a) – Football League Trophy
L 2006-07: Reading (a) – League Cup
L 2007-08: Rochdale (a) – play-offs
L 2008-09: Rotherham United (a) – Football League Trophy
L 2013-14: Buxton (h) – FA Trophy
L 2014-15: Whitby Town (h) – Doodson Sport Cup
W 2020-21: Prescot Cables (h) – FA Cup

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.